OICU-IOSCO

International Organization of Securities Commissions Organisation internationale des commissions de valeurs Organização Internacional das Comissões de Valores Organización Internacional de Comisiones de Valores

IOSCO/MR/04/2011

Cape Town, 18 April 2011

Nine securities regulators to join IOSCO's fight against cross border market

misconduct

The International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO) has announced that nine further

securities regulatory authorities have been invited to become full signatories of the IOSCO Multilateral

Memorandum of Understanding concerning Consultation, Cooperation and the Exchange of

Information (MMoU). They are Estonia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, the Ministry of

Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries of Japan, the Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry of Japan,

Liechtenstein, Pakistan, Sweden, Chinese Taipei and Tanzania.

Jane Diplock, Chairman of the Executive Committee, said:

"It is my privilege to announce that IOSCO has increased, to two-thirds of its eligible

membership, the number of jurisdictions who meet the accepted international standard

for securities enforcement cooperation as set out in the IOSCO MMoU. The increase in

the number of signatories, all of whom were subject to rigorous expert review, is

concrete evidence of IOSCO's members' commitment to supporting the G-20s' aim of

promoting information sharing and international standards with respect to policing and

sanctioning market misconduct."

Hans Hoogervorst, Chairman of IOSCO's Technical Committee, said:

"IOSCO members' promotion of cooperation and information exchange is a clear

example of securities regulators', and their governments', commitment to protecting

OICU-IOSCO

International Organization of Securities Commissions Organisation internationale des commissions de valeurs Organização Internacional das Comissões de Valores Organización Internacional de Comisiones de Valores

investors and the integrity of global capital markets from the risks posed by cross-border

market misconduct."

Vedat Akgiray, Chairman of IOSCO's Emerging Markets Committee, said:

"I am particularly pleased to see five members of the Emerging Markets Committee

joining Appendix A having gone through the process of amending their legal framework

in order to meet the high standards required by the MMoU. This action demonstrates

their commitment to improving investor protection which has the added benefit of

making their markets more attractive to inward investment."

The number of jurisdictions which have been accepted as signatories to the MMoU now stands at 79,

and will increase to 80 with Liechtenstein's membership approval, in addition a further 36 jurisdictions

have been through the full verification process and are now expected to work to remove the

impediments to full Appendix A signatory status. These full MMoU signatories can now request and

share confidential information in the pursuit of cross-border securities offences.

**Multilateral Memorandum of Understanding** 

The MMOU provides a mechanism through which securities regulators share with each other essential

investigative material, such as beneficial ownership information, and securities and derivatives

transaction records, including bank and brokerage records. It sets out specific requirements for the

exchange of information, ensuring that no domestic banking secrecy, blocking laws or regulations

prevent the provision of securities enforcement information amongst securities regulators.

**Appendix A – New Signatories:** 

• The Financial Supervision Authority (FSA), Estonia

• Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries (MAFF), Japan

• Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI), Japan

Calle Oquendo 12 28006 Madrid ESPAÑA



- The Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
- The Securities and Exchange Commission (SECP), Pakistan
- Finansinspektionen, Sweden
- Financial Supervisory Commission (FSC), Chinese Taipei
- Capital Markets and Securities Authority, Tanzania

Appendix A – New Signatory pending membership approval

• Financial Market Authority, Liechtenstein



#### NOTES FOR EDITORS

- 1. The Financial Market Authority of Liechtenstein's accession is pending approval of their application for IOSCO membership on Wednesday 20 April.
- 2. The list of signatories to the IOSCO MMoU can be found here.
- 3. IOSCO is the leading international policy forum for securities regulators. The organization's membership regulates more than 95% of the world's securities markets in over 100 jurisdictions and its membership is steadily growing.
- 4. Ms. Jane Diplock, Chairman of the New Zealand Securities Commission, is the Chairperson of the Executive Committee:
  - Mr. Hans Hoogervorst, Chairman of the Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) is the Chairman of the Technical Committee.; and
  - Mr. Vedat Akgiray, Chairman of the Capital Markets Board of Turkey, currently acts as Chairman of the Emerging Markets Committee.
- 5. The Executive Committee is the body elected by the membership of IOSCO which takes all decisions and actions, subject to the By-Laws of IOSCO, necessary to achieve the objectives of the organization. The Executive Committee is presently composed of the following 19 members: the Chairmen of the Technical and Emerging Markets Committees, the Chairmen of each Regional Committee, 1 ordinary member elected by each Regional Committee from among the ordinary members of that region, and 9 ordinary members elected by the Presidents' Committee.
- 6. The <u>Technical Committee</u>, a specialised working group established by IOSCO's Executive Committee, is made up of eighteen agencies that regulate some of the world's larger, more developed and internationalized markets. Its objective is to review major regulatory issues related to international securities and futures transactions and to coordinate practical responses to these concerns. Mr. Hans Hoogervorst, Chairman of the Netherlands Financial Markets Authority (AFM) is the Chairman of the Technical Committee.. The members of the Technical Committee are Australia, Brazil, China, France, Germany, Hong Kong, India, Italy, Japan, Mexico, the Netherlands, Ontario, Quebec, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom and the United States.
- 7. The <u>Emerging Markets Committee</u> is a specialised working group established by IOSCO's Executive Committee, representing the world's emerging financial markets. It endeavors to promote the development and improvement in efficiency of emerging securities and futures markets



by establishing principles and minimum standards, preparing training programs for the staff of members and facilitating exchange of information and transfer of technology and expertise.

- 8. IOSCO aims through its permanent structures:
  - to cooperate in developing, implementing and promoting adherence to internationally recognised and consistent standards of regulation, oversight and enforcement in order to protect investors, maintain fair, efficient and transparent markets, and seek to address systemic risks;
  - to enhance investor protection and promote investor confidence in the integrity of securities markets, through strengthened information exchange and cooperation in enforcement against misconduct and in supervision of markets and market intermediaries; and
  - to exchange information at both global and regional levels on their respective experiences in order to assist the development of markets, strengthen market infrastructure and implement appropriate regulation.

### **MEDIA ENQUIRIES**

David Cliffe Outside office hours Email: Website:

Follow IOSCO on Twitter here.

+ 34 91 787 0419 + 34 679 969 004 d.cliffe@iosco.org www.iosco.org